iorewstuff.blogg.se

Should i get applecare for macbook pro
Should i get applecare for macbook pro






should i get applecare for macbook pro
  1. #Should i get applecare for macbook pro for free
  2. #Should i get applecare for macbook pro plus
  3. #Should i get applecare for macbook pro free
  4. #Should i get applecare for macbook pro mac

The truth is that AppleCare+ is an add-on service that costs money, while AppleCare comes free with every new Apple product that you purchase.ĪppleCare is just a limited warranty for all of Apple’s products. The more expensive the MBP, the greater the discount becomes.AppleCare Is What Apple Calls Their Limited Warranty Coverageįor starters, it’s important to know the difference between AppleCare and AppleCare+, because many users interchange the two and think they’re relatively the same thing. Are you sure you don't get discount on warranty? I just went into the store now to double-check and sure enough, education discount on AppleCare for the low-end MBP 13" brings it down from $279 to $219. So the Office balances out the education discount almost, but is the remaining $72 of App Store credit worth it? Do you guys find you use it a lot for Macs? I have an iPhone as well which is jailbroken however, so I don't really buy stuff for that, but are there things on the MBP side of it that I might need? Just want to make sure I get the most out of my money. And MS Office is something I will definitely need for school and labs, whether I buy it or acquire it by other means.

#Should i get applecare for macbook pro for free

Now my question is should I buy from the store or online? If I get it online, I'll get the $100 education discount as well as $100 towards the app store, but Best Buy said if I get it from them they'll throw in Microsoft Office for free when I show my student card to them, and I won't have to wait for shipping obviously. So I looked into it and I don't think I get a discount on the warranty in Canada like some of our British friends as a couple of you mentioned, but I do get $100 via the education discount so it's $1149 for the laptop. I'm not sure what everyone's experience is, but mine has been excellent.

should i get applecare for macbook pro

Each time I have gone to have real work done (not the chargers being replaced) it has only taken 24 hours to get my machines back. My other MBP has also had two Mag Safe chargers replaced. Granted, I could have done the work myself without the warranty, but really for the chargers alone, it has been worth it. The screen is required to be replaced by Apple when they do hinges.)Īll in all, the parts themselves paid for the warranty, not to mention the ridiculous labor charges I saved. I honestly didn't need to do it, but figured I might as well. Hinges/Screen (Hinges were getting loose. Another new charger (I was used to the old Mag Safe chargers and had a case that was messing up the magnetic part)ĥ. New Glass Track Pad (I was getting odd double clicks and triple clicks)Ĥ. New Hard Drive (seek levels were off and I was experiencing frequent lockups)ģ. New charger (old one had wires beginning to come out towards the unit)Ģ. In the years that I've had my MBP, I've had the following replaced, all for free, for the cost of Apple Care:ġ. My general rule for buying extended warranties is if its a mobile device (laptop) then use, desktop, no

#Should i get applecare for macbook pro mac

So my question is should I consider getting one of these warranties or am I fine with whatever standard one comes with it from Apple? Are MBPs prone to problems frequently and majorly enough that I should opt for an extended warranty? I consider myself decent with PCs, I've built them and solved any problems that arise, but I've never touched a Mac before, so I'm not sure if just Google alone will be enough to help me solve problems.

should i get applecare for macbook pro

#Should i get applecare for macbook pro plus

Then there's another one which is $30/month, which covers all of the things in the other plan, plus I'll get some coverage from Geek Squad whereby they will offer remote support (so they can access my computer from anywhere and fix the problems), and if I bring it in for a problem, they'll backup all of my stuff onto a new MBP and give me that as a loaner until mine gets fixed. They offer two different sets, one is $300 upfront which covers for 3 years: performance, parts, labor, accessories, no lemon (so if there are 4 hardware problems with it, they will replace it with an equal or better model), 24 hour customer service, and diagnostic support. I've been considering getting the extended warranty through them, but am not sure if I should. But I'm looking to get a new MBP within the next week or two once the local Best Buy gets the preinstalled models in. First of all, I'm in Canada, so some things may differ versus people in the US.








Should i get applecare for macbook pro